2023 ALBUM ARTWORK OF THE YEAR | Ian Ilavsky (Art Director & Designer), Maciek Szczerbowski (Illustrator) | | The JUNO Awards

Ian Ilavsky

Art Director & Designer

Ian Ilavsky left school to bake bagels and play in post-punk band Sofa in 1992, joined folk-punk group Sackville in 1996 and co-founded Constellation Records in 1997. He curated and produced the Musique Fragile concert series from 1997-1999, which featured some of the first performances by emerging experimental musicians from Montreal and the surrounding region. He has contributed to recordings by various Montreal bands, both as engineer (Fly Pan Am) and musician (Hangedup, Frankie Sparo). He was a member of Silver Mt. Zion from 2001 through 2008, and co-founded the very loud drum and bass duo Diebold in 2003.

Maciek Szczerbowski


Maciek Szczerbowski a Polish animator and filmmaker. He is the co-founder of Clyde Henry Productions, a Canadian film, stop-motion animation, puppetry and illustration firm with partner, Chris Lavis. They began by designing puppets and illustrating for various clients, including Vice Magazine, for whom they produce a monthly comic strip. In March 2000, they signed a worldwide representation agreement with Toronto’s Spin Productions. In addition to his role as filmmaker, he wears many hats as animator, sculptor, collage artist, screenplay writer, and art director. In 2007, his first short film Madame Tutli-Putli was nominated for an Oscar.