2021 JAZZ ALBUM OF THE YEAR: GROUP | Emie R Roussel Trio | | The JUNO Awards

Winner of the Stingray Rising Stars Award at the 2018 TD Halifax Jazz festival, of l’ADISQ’s 2015 Félix for Jazz album of the year for their 3rd album Quantum, and Jazz album of the year at the 2013-14 Prix Opus for their preceding release, Transit, the Emie R Roussel Trio has experienced a dizzying ascent since 2010. With Emie R Roussel on piano (Révélation Radio-Canada Jazz 2014-2015), Nicolas Bédard on bass, and Dominic Cloutier on drums, the trio delivers creative and captivating jazz with passion and undeniable chemistry.

The trio had the privilege to present their music in twelve countries across four continents in the last few years. The trio’s fourth album, Intersections, was released in September 2017 and was nominated for the l’ADISQ’s 2018 Félix for Jazz album of the year and at the 2019 Prix Opus. The concert Intersections also received a nomination at the 2019 Prix Opus in the Concert of the Year – Jazz category.

In April 2019, the Emie R Roussel Trio had the honor of being one of eight groups outside Europe selected to present an official showcase during the “Overseas Night”, an event held during the 2019 prestigious festival JAZZAHEAD! in Bremen, Germany. In February 2020, ten years after its creation, the Trio launched its 5th album, Rythme de passage, while on their 5th European tour, during which the group namely performed for the first time in Sweden, as part of the Stockholm Women’s International Jazz Festival.