2012 | Country Album of the Year | Doc Walker | | The JUNO Awards

Doc Walker is a guitar-playing trio who have known each other since they were just scrappy kids fooling around with guitars in small-town Manitoba. Made up of Chris Thorsteinson, Dave Wasyliw and Murray Pulver, the group has an elusive chemistry that only comes from years of bickering, bonding and really understanding each other. As 11-time CCMA winners and 2009 JUNO Award winners for Country Album of the Year for their album BEAUTIFUL LIFE, Doc Walker have produced multiple top 10 and top 5 hits on Canadian country radio throughout their career. Labelled “the hardest working country band in Canada,” Doc Walker were nominated for four 2011 CCMA Awards, including Fans’ Choice, Group or Duo of the Year, CMT Video of the Year for “I’m Gonna Make You Love Me” and Country Music Program or Special of the Year for their 2010 DVD Doc Walker’s Dock Party. The group’s latest album 16 & 1 was recorded in lead singer Chris Thorsteinson’s hometown of Westbourne, Manitoba, in the band’s recently purchased and converted studio that was once the school that Chris attended as a youth, logically named Old School Studios.