Media Release

Thank You, Hamilton. The 2015 JUNO Awards Rock with 1.6 Million Viewers on CTV

Mar 16, 2015

– THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS is now available on demand at and the CTV GO app –
–18 #JUNOS-related topics trended on Twitter in Canada last night, with an estimated reach of 1.76 billion users –

To tweet this release:

TORONTO (March 16, 2015) – THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS drew a combined audience of 1.6 million viewers across the nation last night on CTV, with 1.34 million Canadians tuning into the primetime broadcast while an additional 263,000 viewers watched the midnight encore, preliminary overnight audiences from Numeris (BBM Canada) confirms. Overall, the combined audience grew 5% from last year’s broadcasts among total viewers, while the primetime broadcast won its timeslot with total viewers and all key adult demos, and led the night among Teens 12-17. Hosted by Jacob Hoggard, frontman of multi-platinum selling band Hedley, the two-hour live broadcast from Hamilton’s FirstOntario Centre reached 5.3 million unique viewers. In Toronto, the primetime broadcast saw double and triple digit percentage growth among total viewers and all key adult demos, more than doubling ratings among younger viewers aged 18-34. The primetime broadcast peaked with 1.7 million viewers during Hoggard’s closing performance, an interpretation of Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee Alanis Morissette’s “Thank U”, where he thanked, among other things, the host city of Hamilton. Watch it here.

**Media Note** – Download photos from last night’s THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS at

THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS experience extended online, and on social media last night.  The broadcast captivated Twitter with an estimated reach of 1.76 billion users from 585,686 tweets, up 242% from last year. Yesterday in Canada, 18 JUNOS-related topics trended during the live broadcast with #JUNOS continuing to trend today. The most tweets per minute surrounded Hoggard’s much-buzzed about version of “Thank U”.

THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS is now available on demand at and on CTV GO. Encore broadcasts of THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS air at the following times:

  • Monday, March 16 at 7 p.m. ET on Much
  • Saturday, March 22 at 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. ET on E!
  • Saturday, April 4 at 8 p.m. ET on CTV Two

Hamilton rocked the nation during last night’s live broadcast. The show opened with a surprise appearance by Prime Minister Stephen Harper, The Trailer Park Boys, and past JUNO Awards broadcast host, Michael Bublé. The broadcast boasted 11 unique performances including an explosive opening by Hedley and host Jacob Hoggard; an amazing performance of “Sounds Of A Woman” and her hit “Hideaway” by 2015 Breakthrough Artist of the Year, Kiesza; hit single “Life of the Party” by Shawn Mendes, in his JUNO Award debut; a breathtaking performance of single “Earned It” by THE 2015 JUNO AWARD winner The Weeknd, accompanied by co-writer and producer Stephan Moccio; a fun performance by 2015 Breakthrough Group of the Year, MAGIC!; Bobby Bazini, who charmed in his JUNO Awards performance debut; deadmau5, who was joined on-stage by singer Colleen D’Agostino for “Seeya”; Lights, who joined the Sam Roberts Band for their hit “We’re All In This Together”; and 2015 Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee Alanis Morissette, who delighted fans with a medley of three classic songs. Host Jacob Hoggard, who kept the energy high throughout the broadcast, closed the show with his version of Morissette’s “Thank U” on piano. To see all the performances, click here.


Since CTV joined forces with CARAS in 2002, the JUNO Awards have travelled across Canada, bringing an exhilarating live concert to millions of Canadians. CTV has broadcast THE JUNO AWARDS from St. John’s (2002), Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007), Calgary (2008), Vancouver (2009), St. John’s for a second time (2010), Toronto (2011), Ottawa for a second time (2012), Regina (2013), and Winnipeg for a second time (2014). Calgary is set to host THE 2016 JUNO AWARDS.


THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). Executive Producers are John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby for Insight Productions, and Allan Reid and Ed Robinson for CARAS. Lindsay Cox is Supervising Producer. Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President, Independent Production. Mike Cosentino is Senior Vice President, Programming, CTV Networks. Phil King is President, CTV, Sports, and Entertainment Programming.
Sponsors of the 2015 JUNO Awards include FACTOR, the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters, Radio Starmaker Fund, Province of Ontario, Ontario Media Development Corporation, the City of Hamilton, and TD Bank


The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences/L’académie canadienne des arts et des sciences de l’enregistrement (CARAS) is a not-for-profit organization created to preserve and enhance the Canadian music industry and to contribute toward higher artistic and industry standards. The main focus of CARAS is the exploration and development of ongoing opportunities to showcase and promote Canadian artists and music through vehicles such as The JUNO Awards and other year-round initiatives. For more information on the 44th Annual JUNO Awards or The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences’ (CARAS) please visit or


About CTV
CTV is Canada’s #1 private broadcaster. Featuring a wide range of quality news, sports, information, and entertainment programming, CTV has been Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 13 years in a row. CTV is a division of Bell Media, Canada’s premier multimedia company with leading assets in television, radio, digital, and Out-of-Home. Bell Media is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. More information about CTV can be found on the network’s website at
Web Links:
Official JUNO Awards website:
CTV’s JUNO Awards website:
CARAS website:
CTV website:






Numeris (BBM Canada), overnight vs. overnight

Twitter Canada- North Strategic

For more information on THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS on CTV, contact:

Amanda Rinaldo, 416.384.5325 or [email protected]

Sara McLaren, 416.384.6014 or [email protected]


Download Press Release