Statuette History

The JUNO Awards Statuette


Photo: Tyler Shaw, seated alongside David Foster and Alan Doyle, performs at JUNO Songwriters’ Circle Presented by SOCAN In Association with Canadian Music Publishers Association (top). Credit: CARAS/Ryan Bolton

Photo Credit: – Click to expand

1970 to 1974

The very first RPM Gold Leaf Award was introduced and designed by record producer & RPM Music Weekly Special Projects Director and JUNO Awards co-founder, Stan Klees.  Made out of walnut wood, the 18 inch Award was designed to resemble a metronome.

1975 to 1983

In 1975, the JUNO Awards were televised for the first time. With the move to television, Klees designed a taller (23 inch) acrylic version of the RPM Gold Leaf Award. The Awards were renamed the JUNO Awards in honour of Pierre Juneau, the CRTC’s first Chairman.


The JUNO Award was slightly re-designed several more times during this period, yet it retained the iconic metronome shape. The maple leaf inlay had changed to a record and JUNO inlay; the height of the Award was adjusted to make it easier to handle; and in 1996, a 25th Anniversary inlay was designed to honour the JUNO Awards’ 25th milestone.


As the Canadian music industry approached a new millennium, CARAS adopted a completely new award. Individually crafted by Shirley Elford, the human statuette was made of molten glass and wrapped in an upward spiralling musical staff.  This beautifully symbolized the creativity and inspiration surrounding every artist.


To honour its colourful history and musical legacy, The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) presented the new 2011 JUNO Award!

The previous human statuette design is now represented within a solid volume crystal tower.  This innovative technique, designed and sub-surface laser engraved by Crystal Sensations®, pays tribute to Shirley Elford’s creative contributions over the past 11 years, while symbolizing the evolution and future of Canada’s Music Awards.