2018 Winners List: The JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards Presented by SOCAN

Mar 25, 2018

Last night, 36 JUNOS and 4 special awards were handed out at The 47th JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards Presented by SOCAN.

The evening, hosted by CBC q’s Tom Power, featured performances by five of this year’s nominees: Terra Lightfoot, James Barker Band, IskwéClairmont the Second and 2018 Allan Slaight JUNO Master Class winners Caveboy.

In case you missed it, you can rewatch the entire gala broadcast at, or on YouTube

Here’s a complete list of winners from last night’s event: 

Single Of The Year (Sponsored By Live Nation Canada)
There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back — Shawn Mendes 

International Album Of The Year
DAMN. — Kendrick Lamar 

Group Of The Year (Presented With Apple Music)
A Tribe Called Red 

Breakthrough Group Of The Year (Sponsored By Factor, The Government Of Canada, And Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters)
The Beaches 

Songwriter Of The Year (Presented By SOCAN)
Gord Downie & Kevin Drew
“A Natural”, “Introduce Yerself”, “The North” Introduce Yerself – Gord Downie

Country Album Of The Year
Game On James Barker Band 

Adult Alternative Album Of The Year
Introduce Yerself – Gord Downie

Alternative Album Of The Year (Sponsored By Long & Mcquade)
Antisocialites – Alvvays

Pop Album Of The Year
Skin & Earth – Lights 

Rock Album Of The Year
Young Beauties And Fools – The Glorious Sons 

Vocal Jazz Album Of The Year
Turn Up The Quiet – Diana Krall

Jazz Album Of The Year: Solo
Root Structure – Mike Downes  

Jazz Album Of The Year: Group
The North – David Braid, Mike Murley, Anders Mogensen & Johnny Aman Addo

Instrumental Album Of The Year
Stubborn Persistent Illusions – Do Make Say Think 

Francophone Album Of The Year
Paloma – Daniel Bélanger 

Children’s Album Of The Year
Hear The Music – Fred Penner 

Classical Album Of The Year: Solo Or Chamber
Chopin Recital 3 – Janina Fialkowska 

Classical Album Of The Year: Large Ensemble
Chopin: Works For Piano & Orchestra – Jan Lisiecki With Ndr Elbphilharmonie Orchester

Classical Album Of The Year: Vocal Or Choral
Crazy Girl Crazy – Barbara Hannigan With Ludwig Orchestra 

Classical Composition Of The Year
My Name Is Amanda Todd – Jocelyn Morlock

Dance Recording Of The Year
Closer Ft. Laurell – Nick Fiorucci 

Reggae Recording Of The Year
Greater – Kirk Diamond 

Indigenous Music Album Of The Year (Sponsored By APTN)
Medicine Songs – Buffy Sainte-Marie

Contemporary Roots Album Of The Year
Bone On Bone – Bruce Cockburn 

Traditional Roots Album Of The Year
Illusion & Doubt – The Dead South 

Blues Album Of The Year
Time To Roll – Monkeyjunk 

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album Of The Year
First Day Of My Life  The Color 

World Music Album Of The Year
Where The Galleon Sank – Kobo Town 

Jack Richardson Producer Of The Year
“L-O-V-E”, “Night And Day” (Co-Producer Tommy Lipuma) Turn Up The Quiet – Diana Krall 
Diana Krall

Recording Engineer Of The Year
“Get You Ft. Kali Uchis”, “We Find Love” Freudian – Daniel Caesar
Riley Bell

Album Artwork Of The Year
Marianne Collins (Art Director & Illustrator), Ian Ilavsky (Designer), Steve Farmer (Photographer) – Stubborn Persistent Illusions
Do Make Say Think 

Video Of The Year (Sponsored By Stingray Music)
Venus Fly Ft. Janelle Monáe – Grimes 
Grimes (Claire Boucher)

Electronic Album Of The Year
Mass Manipulation – Rezz 

Metal/Hard Music Album Of The Year
Voice Of The Void – Anciients

Adult Contemporary Album Of The Year
Nobody But Me – Michael Bublé 

Comedy Album Of The Year (Sponsored By Siriusxm Canada)
I Wanted To Be A Dinosaur – Ivan Decker

Humanitarian Award
Gary Slaight

International Achievement Award
Arcade Fire

Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award
Denise Donlon

MusiCounts Inspired Minds Ambassador
Jim Cuddy